Main Menu

Sacraments / Prayer


The sacraments of Christian initiation - Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist - lay the foundations of every Christian life. The faithful are born anew by Baptism, strengthened by the sacrament of Confirmation, and receive in the Eucharist the food of eternal life. (Catechism of the Catholic Church, paragraph 1212.)

The Catechism of the Catholic Church

The Sacrament of Baptism:

Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit and the door which gives access to the other sacraments. Through Baptism we are freed from sin and reborn as children of God; we become members of Christ, are incorporated into the Church and made sharers in her mission. (CCC, paragraph 1213.)

Baptism is celebrated in St. Mary's Church, Westport every weekend.  On Sundays Baptism is at 2.00 p.m.  On the second weekend of each month Baptism is celebrated on Saturday at 4.00 p.m.  Please contact us to make a booking.


The Sacrament of Confirmation:

Confirmation is conferred by anointing with chrism on the forehead in a laying on of hands, and by the words prescribed in the approved liturgical books. (Canon 880, par. 1 of The Code of Canon Law). 

Archbishop Michael Neary will celebrate the Sacrament of Confirmation in Westport on Saturday, ........


The Sacrament of the Eucharist:

"The Eucharist is the source and summit of the christian life." (Lumen Gentium 11).

First Holy Communion will be celebrated in Westport on Saturday, ...... 


The Sacrament of Marriage

For Catholics, the Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also
God's values.


The Sacrament of Holy Orders

In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, or Ordination, the priest being ordained vows to lead other Catholics by bringing them the sacraments (especially the Eucharist), by proclaiming the Gospel, and by providing other means to holiness.


The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

The Catholic Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites or Extreme Unction, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness.


The Sacrament of Reconciliation

The Catholic Sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as Penance, or Penance and Reconciliation) has three elements: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God's unconditional forgiveness; as a result we are called to forgive others.



Common Catholic Prayers




©2009-2018 Westport Parish - Designed and developed by GetOnline